Item Title: Wake County Community Development Block Grant Cooperation Agreements for Federal FY2019-2021

Specific Action Requested:

That the Board of Commissioners:

- 1. Authorizes the County Manager to execute Amended Community Development Block Grant Agreements with nine municipalities: Apex, Knightdale, Morrisville, Wendell, Wake Forest, Rolesville, Fuguay Varina, Zebulon, Garner, subject to terms and conditions acceptable to the County Attorney and;
- 2. Authorizes the County Manager to execute a new Community Development Block Grant Agreement with the Town of Holly Springs, subject to terms and conditions acceptable to the County Attorney.

Item Summary:

- As a condition to grant funding eligibility from the U.S. Department of Purpose: Housing and Urban Development (HUD), Wake County is required to enter into cooperation agreements ("Cooperation Agreement") with each participating local government for the administration of HUD grant funds within the Wake County Urban Entitlement Community. This action renews the longstanding agreement with towns listed above and adds the Town of Holly Springs as a partner.
- Background: Wake County was designated an "Urban County" by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) in 1992 when the population outside of the corporation limits of Raleigh reached 200,000. Since 2006, nine Wake County municipalities have been party to a cooperation agreement ("2006 Cooperation Agreement") with Wake County for the administration of CDBG and HOME grant programs. The Urban County designation presently allows Wake County to receive the following HUD grants as an entitlement community: Community Development Block Grant (CDBG), HOME Investment Partnership (HOME), Housing Opportunities for Persons with AIDS (HOPWA) and Emergency Solutions Grant (ESG).
- Board Goal: This Board action complements housing affordability initiatives in the Social and Economic Vitality goal area.
- Fiscal Impact: The expenditure of funds received under Wake County's entitlement status is contingent upon an adopted County Budget, annual Action Plan and HUD approved Consolidated Plan. The funding amounts for FY2019 are as follows:
 - 1) CDBG \$1,903,054

2)	HOME	\$ 904,067
3)	HOPWA	\$ 716,346
4)	ESG	\$ 149,012

Additional Information:

The Cooperation Agreements allow Wake County to administer Federal grant funds within the municipalities that make up the Wake County Entitlement Community. CDBG, HOME, HOPWA and ESG grants are distributed to the County on a formula basis. HUD determines the allocations using a statutory formula that measures: population, community needs, extent of poverty, housing overcrowding, age of housing and population growth in relationship to other metropolitan areas. The nine towns currently participating in the 2006 Cooperation Agreement are: Apex, Knightdale, Rolesville, Wake Forest, Wendell, Zebulon, Garner, Morrisville and Fuquay Varina. The Cooperation Agreements are renewed in three-year cycles that align with federal fiscal years (FFY). The current renewal period is for FFY 2019-2021, beginning October 1, 2019 through September 30, 2021. Amended Cooperation Agreements are required for these nine Towns for FFY 2019-2021 to incorporate new federal requirements that did not exist as of the 2006 Cooperation Agreement and to identify additional grant funding resources from the ESG and HOPWA programs. Urban County designation allows Wake County to receive:

- 1) Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) funds for housing and community development activities that benefit low-income families and neighborhoods;
- 2) HOME Investment Partnership Program (HOME) funds for affordable housing development activities;
- 3) Housing Opportunities for Persons with AIDS (HOPWA) funds for housing and related services for persons with HIV/AIDS and their families; and
- 4) Emergency Solutions Grant (ESG) for the purpose of assisting individuals and families in quickly regaining stability in permanent housing after experiencing a housing crisis or homelessness.

Towns not currently part of the Wake County Entitlement Community are invited to join at each renewal period. The Town of Holly Springs has recently accepted the invitation and has agreed to enter into a new cooperation agreement with the County in a form substantially similar to the Amended FFY 2019-2021 Cooperation Agreement to be entered into with the nine renewing municipalities. As a Wake County Entitlement Community, the Town of Holly Springs and residents will have access to the following programs:

- Elderly & Disabled Rehabilitation Grant Program
- Emergency Grant Program
- Public Facilities Projects
- Affordable Housing Development
- Rental Assistance

Through these programs, the County will be able to serve more residents in Holly Springs than when the Town received limited funding through the state administered HUD programs. The County also anticipates receiving increased appropriations based off the

statutory allocation formula which will now include Holly Springs population, community needs, extent of poverty, housing overcrowding, age of housing and population growth.

Attachments:

- 1. FFY 2019-2021 Amended Cooperation Agreement for Apex, Knightdale, Morrisville, Wendell, Wake Forest, Rolesville, Fuquay Varina, Zebulon, Garner
- 2. FFY 2019-2021 Cooperation Agreement for Holly Springs