

Memorandum

To: Wake County Board of Commissioners

From: Blake Kane, Research Triangle Foundation, and Secretary, RTP Owners & Tenants

Association

Date: June 12, 2025

Re: Recommendations for Appointments to the Durham-Wake Counties Research and

Production Service District Advisory Committee

The special tax district for the Research Triangle Park ("RTP"), known as the Durham-Wake Counties Research and Production Service District ("District"), was established in 1986 pursuant to NCGS \$153A-312. The District is governed by an Advisory Committee which is charged with making recommendations to the respective Boards of County Commissioners for the additional tax rate to be applied to the District and with selecting the projects to be undertaken. The Advisory Committee is made up of 13 members which include: the Durham County Manager, the Wake County Manager, the President of the Research Triangle Foundation, and 10 members who are appointed by the Boards of Commissioners based on recommendations from the RTP Owners and Tenants Association ("Association"). Terms are staggered so that three to four vacancies occur each year; however, due to turnover, this year a greater number of vacancies exist. Term lengths have been assigned below to return appointments in future years to the standard of three to four vacancies.

The established procedure for appointments is that the RTP Owners and Tenants Association submits two names for each vacancy as required by NCGS §153A-313(a) and both Boards of County Commissioners act on each appointment. The Association has made a recommended list of appointees and provided an alternate list of names to comply with NCGS §153A-313(a). At its meeting on June 5, 2025, the RTP Owners and Tenants Association approved the following recommendations for your consideration for appointments to the Advisory Committee:

Recommended Appointees:

Name	Term
Alex Murray	July 1, 2025 – June 30, 2028
Biogen	
Sarah Gaskill	July 1, 2025 – June 30, 2026
Fujifilm Biotechnologies	
Gina Andersen	July 1, 2025 – June 30, 2026
Cisco	
Mike Curry	July 1, 2025 – June 30, 2028
BASF	
Greg Luberecki	July 1, 2025 – June 30, 2027
NetApp	
Frederico Egli	July 1, 2025 – June 30, 2027
IBM	



Sarah Ellis	July 1, 2025 – June 30, 2028
United Therapeutics	
Tara Crossan	July 1, 2025 – June 30, 2026
Park Point	
Leon Kislowski	July 1, 2025 – June 30, 2028
Alexandria Real Estate Equities	

Alternate Names Provided Pursuant to NCGS §153A-313(a):

Alternate Name	Term
Melissa Porazzo	July 1, 2025 – June 30, 2028
Biogen	
Sam Jacobs	July 1, 2025 – June 30, 2026
Fujifilm Biotechnologies	
Justin Batchen	July 1, 2025 – June 30, 2026
Cisco	
Nigel Armes	July 1, 2025 – June 30, 2028
BASF	
Edward Webb	July 1, 2025 – June 30, 2027
NetApp	
James Hoye	July 1, 2025 – June 30, 2027
IBM	
Thomas Kaufman	July 1, 2025 – June 30, 2028
United Therapeutics	
Margaret Williams	July 1, 2025 – June 30, 2026
Park Point	
Jennifer Gilson	July 1, 2025 – June 30, 2028
Alexandria Real Estate Equities	

In making its recommendations, the Association tries to ensure balanced representation on the Committee from Durham and Wake County companies as well as inclusive representation of the RTP community. For these reasons, the RTP Owners and Tenants Association respectfully recommends that the primary candidate for each position be appointed.

If you need any additional information, please feel free to contact me at kane@rtp.org or (336) 266-0217.